Organic Trade Association selects new officers, board members - Organic Trade Association
Organic Trade Association
   twitter   facebook   linked In   rss

Organic Trade Association selects new officers, board members


BALTIMORE, MD (Oct. 6, 2000) William R. Knudsen has been selected president of the Organic Trade Association (OTA) for a second term.

Knudsen, a consultant for Smucker Quality Beverages, was re-elected by board members at their Sept. 20 business meeting at the Horizon Organic Dairy’s Farm and Education Center in Gambrills, MD, near Annapolis.

Other OTA officers serving during the past year were also re-elected. They are: Bu Nygrens of Veritable Vegetable, vice president – USA; Debra Boyle of Pro Organics Marketing Inc., vice president – Canada: Joe Smillie of Quality Assurance International, secretary; and Gene Kahn of Small Planet Foods LLC, treasurer. The officers serve on the Executive Committee. Board member Dave DeCou of Organically Grown Company was appointed by the board to serve as the sixth member on the Executive Committee.

Completing the board are Diane Bowen of Organic Crop Improvement Association, Michael Gilliland of Wild Oats Markets Inc., Andy Grant of Grant Family Farms, Nancy Hirshberg of Stonyfield Farm Inc., Phil Margolis of Neshaminy Valley Natural Foods Distributor, Tonya Pavich of Natural Selection Foods/Earthbound Farm; LaRhea Pepper of Organic Essentials, Jesse Singerman of Blooming Prairie Warehouse Inc., and Aaron Stephens of Nature’s Path Foods Inc.

OTA voting members in September re-elected Boyle, Hirshberg, Kahn, and Smillie in the association’s annual election. Margolis was selected by the OTA board to fill the three-year appointed seat.

Mark Retzloff of Horizon Organic Dairy, who was board president before Knudsen, is going off the board after completing his third term—the maximum allowed under current OTA bylaws.

Retzloff was honored for his service on the board at OTA’s annual membership meeting during an afternoon tea Sept. 21 at the Hyatt Regency Baltimore.

October 6, 2000

Back to Archived Press Releases

Search Press Releases 1998-June 2006

2014 Annual Fund

Research and Promotion 2012