Organic Trade Association selects first woman president - Organic Trade Association
Organic Trade Association
   twitter   facebook   linked In   rss

Organic Trade Association selects first woman president


GREENFIELD, Mass. (May 25, 2001)—Debra Boyle of Pro Organics Marketing Inc. has been selected president of the Organic Trade Association (OTA) for 2001-2002.

Boyle, president and chief executive officer of Pro Organics based in Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada, was named president by the OTA Board of Directors on May 18. On May 19, she presided at OTA’s 2001 annual meeting, held during a breakfast session in conjunction with OTA’s All Things Organic™ Conference and Trade Show at the Austin Convention Center, Austin, TX.

"OTA members will truly benefit from Debra’s keen business sense and her unmatched enthusiasm for organic agriculture and the trade association," according to Katherine DiMatteo, OTA’s executive director.

Other OTA officers for 2001-2002 are: Jesse Singerman of Blooming Prairie Cooperative Warehouse and Phil Margolis of Neshaminy Valley Natural Foods Distributor, vice presidents; Joe Smillie of Quality Assurance International, secretary; and Gene Kahn of Small Planet Foods LLC, treasurer. Board member Dave DeCou of Organically Grown Company has been reappointed to serve as the sixth member of OTA’s Executive Committee.

In the recent OTA election, OTA members elected four candidates to serve on OTA Board of Directors until 2004. Elected were LaRhea Pepper, executive officer of Texas Organic Cotton Marketing Cooperative and president and CEO of Organic Essentials, Inc. (re-elected to a second term); Arran Stephens, president and founder of Nature’s Path Foods Inc. (re-elected to a second term), Theresa Marquez, director of marketing of Organic Valley/CROPP Cooperative; and Marty Mesh, executive director of Florida Certified Organic Growers & Consumers, Inc.

Continuing to serve on the board for the current year are Michael Gilliland (former CEO of Wild Oats Markets), Andy Grant of Grant Family Farms, Nancy Hirshberg of Stonyfield Farm Inc., and Tonya Pavich of Natural Selection Foods/Earthbound Farm. One appointed seat has yet to be filled.

May 25, 2001

Back to Archived Press Releases

Search Press Releases 1998-June 2006

2014 Annual Fund

Research and Promotion 2012