Maria Morgan completes Organic Trade Association's 15-member board - Organic Trade Association
Organic Trade Association
   twitter   facebook   linked In   rss

Maria Morgan completes Organic Trade Association's 15-member board


News Release 
For Immediate Release         

For more information, contact:

Holly Givens (413-774-7511, Ext. 18)
Barbara Haumann (413-774-7511, Ext. 20)

Maria Morgan completes Organic Trade Association's 15-member board

GREENFIELD, Mass. (Oct. 12, 2004)-Maria Morgan, president of Small Planet Foods, has been named to the Organic Trade Association's (OTA) Board of Directors to serve a two-year term.

Morgan was chosen to fill a vacancy left by Brian Leahy, who stepped down from OTA's board earlier this year when he left California Certified Organic Farmers. Her first official board meeting is this week in Washington, D.C.

"I am extremely eager to serve on the OTA board, and I am appreciative of the appointment," said Morgan. "I believe it is critical for OTA to protect the organic standards and to further communicate organic benefits."

Katherine DiMatteo, OTA's executive director, welcomed Morgan's appointment. "Although a newcomer to the organic industry, Maria has expressed enthusiasm for the values and origin of the organic movement while supporting increasing consumer interest in organic. Her sales and marketing experience will be a good addition to our board," DiMatteo said.

Moran, who also serves on OTA's Marketing Committee and the Communications and Education Committee of The Organic Center for Education and Promotion, has been president of Small Planet Foods since 2003.

Other members of the 15-member board are: Phil Margolis of Neshaminy Valley Natural Foods Distributor (president), Nancy Hirshberg of Stonyfield Farm, Inc. (Vice President-U.S.A.), Debra Boyle of SunOpta Inc. (Vice President-Canada), Chuck Marcy of Horizon Organic (treasurer), Dave DeCou of One Step Forward Farm (secretary), Lynn Clarkson of Clarkson Grain Company, Inc. (at-large member, Executive Committee), Luis Acuña of CF Fresh, Anne Gillespie of Agility Consulting, Andy Grant of Grant Family Farms, Theresa Marquez of Organic Valley/CROPP Cooperative, Marty Mesh of Florida Organic Growers/Quality Certification Services, Mary Mulry of Wild Oats Markets, Inc., Julia Sabin of Smucker Quality Beverages, Inc., and Jesse Singerman of Prairie Ventures LLC.

The Organic Trade Association (OTA) is the business association representing the organic agriculture industry in North America. Its membership, numbering approximately 1,500, includes growers, shippers, processors, certifiers, farmers' associations, distributors, importers, exporters, consultants, retailers and others.

Headquarters: 60 Wells Street, P.O. Box 547, Greenfield, MA 01302 USA ( (413) 774-7511 Fax: (413) 774-6432 ( e-mail: ( web site:
Legislative Office: 600 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22304 USA ( (202) 338-2900  

October 12, 2004

Back to Archived Press Releases

Search Press Releases 1998-June 2006

2014 Annual Fund

Research and Promotion 2012